Married in April 2013

I live in Egypt now. I was fortunate to have the opportunity to start a new life, in a new place, where at least physically, I can get away from what haunts me daily (my arrest and branding with the scarlet letter). I’ve been here for 2 years now. Yea, the 2 years that have seen all of the protests, death, and political turmoil. And in that time, I met someone special who accepted me for my past, present, and future to help me with my personal turmoil.

And I married her in April of this year. After June 2006, I thought I would never meet anyone to accept me. I thought I would just have to trudge along in this journey called life, alone. Keeping in the shadows and muting my voice. But she is a rock for me. She reminds me more than I remind myself that I am intelligent, caring, and full of potential to do good for others. And trust me, she has to remind me a lot because I too often see my mugshot when I look in the mirror, rather than what she sees.

I am grateful to have met and married her and I hope for her sake, I can move past what haunts me.

Leave a Reply

